Strawberries, Sunshine and Pink Lemonade

My brain has been on strawberries today.
First when I made my chocolate-dipped strawberries for my grandmother’s birthday:

Melted milk chocolate, and then dipped the tips into the glittery, pink, sugar sprinkles I had. Amazingly good. The crunchy sugar added a third texture to the berry/chocolate combo and a tiny extra bit of sweetness. Yum. Also discovered white chocolate (at least most of them) will NOT melt correctly unless it has cocoa butter in the ingredients. I tried melting some before I knew this, and it came out the consistency of frosting – undippable.

Then for lunch today, when I couldn’t think of anything good for lunch. I finally decided to use my left over strawberries, strawberry yogurt and a few other things to make a smoothie:

Strawberry Smoothie
4 Strawberries
1 Banana
1 Cup Strawberry (or vanilla) Yogurt
3-4 Ice cubes
1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1 egg (optional)
Blend all ingredients in blender until completely smooth. Makes 2 glass-fulls (about 32 oz).

I thought the raw egg seemed really gross, but my husband insisted it was a great source of protein and I wouldn’t taste it. I’m okay with eating raw eggs in cookie dough or un-cooked brownie mixes, so I guess it won’t kill me. I know weight lifters and sports people eat raw egg diets all the time to get the protein and save time. Plus, he was right – I couldn’t taste it. Came out pretty good. I’m not that big of a banana eater, so I think it would taste better without that – but it does add potassium.

And finally when I put together this Etsy Treasury:

Strawberries, Sunshine, and Pink Lemonade.

“The time has come, my little friends, to talk of other things / Of shoes and ships and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings / And why the sea is boiling hot, and whether pigs have wigs / Calloo, Callay, come run away / With the cabbages and kings.”

One thought on “Strawberries, Sunshine and Pink Lemonade

Leave a Reply

